Doc AN Airworthiness Manual. Volume I. Organization and Procedures. Approved by the Secretary General and published under his authority. The Airworthiness Manual (Doc ) was first published in in two volumes and contained a consolidation of airworthiness-related information previously. Doc AN Airworthiness Manual. Volume II. Design Certification and. Continuing Airworthiness. Approved by the Secretary General.

Author: Dulrajas Vukora
Country: Thailand
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: History
Published (Last): 17 May 2010
Pages: 420
PDF File Size: 18.62 Mb
ePub File Size: 19.10 Mb
ISBN: 872-1-61469-585-2
Downloads: 74308
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Mausida

Reference should also be made to M. For example, for most military organizations, operational effectiveness is paramount and, therefore, aviation safety objectives must be balanced against the need to accept higher levels of risk wherever operational circumstances dictate.

The process by which the TAA will undertake this recognition could include:. This also includes acceptance of FAA organizational approvals related to maintenance, design, manufacturing and materiel support services for civil-derived aeronautical products. Recognition — Civil Aviation Authorities 4.

Other military regulators may be organized differently, for example: In the words of ICAO:. This is an approved organisation responsible for implementation of continuing airworthiness management tasks.

Timely response is required where airworthiness is affected, which means devising and provisioning rectification action, and promulgating the necessary information to restore safety levels.

Safety and airworthiness are sovereign responsibilities. Terms, conditions and sustainment requirements are normally articulated in a recognition certificate and the supporting documentation. It may be necessary to develop limitations and conditions associated with the recognition, based upon risk assessment of any gaps in documentation or information.

A recognition does not expire. Within a military organization, airworthiness and aviation responsibility may be spread across a number of organizations, and enforcement may only be possible through internal regulations, rules and contracts.

Continuing Airworthiness is therefore not just the maintenance of aircraft and equipment, but also involves monitoring performance of products in service.

Agência Nacional de Aviação Civil

Limitations and Constraints 4. The planning phase is used to review the rationale for the AA recognition and establish the recognition plan. Recognition of Airworthiness Authorities Effective Date: The report provides an overall assessment of acceptability and identifies any areas that require clarification through an onsite review. For the purpose of this advisory, an airworthiness artefact is a work product from a military or civil airworthiness authority.


The recognition plan can be used to provide the rationale for a direct recognition, without completion of the MARQ or an onsite evaluation. It remains the responsibility of the TAA to account for any differences in standards and processes, and to decide how any identified gaps are to be managed.


Recognition can be unilateral, bilateral or multilateral. For each of its aircraft, the approved CAMO is required to carry out the following functions. The generic term for any of the following: The scope of recognition is limited to those airworthiness functions that fall within the assigned responsibility of the respective AA.

While MAAs may closely align with many of the international civilian airworthiness processes, by necessity, military aviation has a different risk context and will employ military design standards. Normally, these work products will have received an airworthiness approval or other form of authorization from an AA. The government statutory authority in each country that oversees the approval and regulation of civil aviation. Sustainment usually relates to the requirement to communicate any change to the conditions under which the recognition was originally issued.

The process by which the TAA will undertake this recognition could include: It is useful to compare Continued and Continuing as they are sometimes used interchangeably. To enable the provisions of these two TAM chapters, there is a requirement to identify the other regulatory authorities that are acceptable to the TAA and detail the methodology used to establish acceptability.

Furthermore, there is no single, internationally recognized organization that sets standards or harmonizes the military airworthiness and aviation requirements of MAAs. The recognition process follows four basic phases:. Although the owner bears the legal responsibility for continuing airworthiness, there is very much a shared responsibility between:.


Reference j represents a TAA staff instruction that covers how companies providing services under contract to DND are recognized. Depending on how it is structured within the state, the airworthiness authority may be established as a sub-component of the larger Civil Aviation Authority. This standardized assessment tool has been tailored for the military context and takes the form of a question set called the Military Authorities Recognition Question set MARQ reference i.

Continuing Airworthiness management is the process by which an aircraft is kept in a condition where it remains airworthy throughout its life – or in other wordsi. Information is provided related to:. The process used by the TAA for establishing acceptability of the work and artefacts of another airworthiness regulatory authority is called recognition. For the purposes of this advisory, recognition is defined as the process by which an AA assesses and acknowledges another AA as being a competent regulator, empowered with the necessary authority, infrastructure, resources and mechanisms to ensure aviation safety.

Airworthiness Directive

Examples may include any of the following: TAM Part 1, Chapter 4 — Assignment of Technical Airworthiness Authority describes the rules and standards for determining the acceptability of organizations that have been assigned airworthiness management roles or airworthiness functions by a regulatory authority other than the TAA. For operators based outside the EU, for whom EASA regulations do not apply, continuing airworthiness is still managed in a controlled manner but the regulations are within the rules for the operator.

Once the regulatory Section Heads have completed their reviews, they provide a summary of their findings to DTAES 2, who collates them into a preliminary report. Military Authorities Recognition Question Set. Furthermore, TAA recognition of another AA neither implies, nor requires, that the authority must make any changes to their airworthiness management systems as a result of the recognition.

Previous post: